SECOND HAND PLAY

 
  SECOND HAND LOW
Second Hand Low  is a bridge maxim that is used only by the defenders.  (Third Hand High is another one.) This rule can be used by the defenders in any position: before or after dummy; before or after declarer. If you have honors or high cards in the suit led do not assume that declarer can see your cards - in most cases play low.  Remember your partner is the last to play and might come up with some goodies. (Goodies is another one of those tech terms like Wow or Yippee.) Second Hand Low has lots of exceptions,  so as with other maxims, do not apply this one blindly.  Judgment before action. 

EXCEPTIONS TO SECOND HAND LOW
As true with almost every bridge maxim or adage there are 
exceptions.  Here are some exceptions to consider:

w  Playing Second Hand High will defeat the contract

w  Split honors in order to create a winner in partnerís hand

w  Take the lead so you can return partnerís suit

w  Force declarer to win the trick prematurely

w  Cover an Honor with an Honor


 

 QUIZ 18 2nd HAND LOW 

 
  THE 2 IS PLAYED BY THE DECLARER (hand) IN 
QUESTIONS 1 - 7; 
  AND BY THE dummy IN QUESTIONS 8 - 10. 
WHAT DO you PLAY?
 
1.
dummy
A Q J
 
6.
dummy
A K 10 3
 
you
K 8 4
   
you
Q J  4
 
   
hand
2
   
hand
2
       
 
2.
dummy
A 10 9
 
7.
dummy
Q 10 9
 
you
K 8 4
   
you
K 8  4
 
   
hand
2
   
hand
2
                 
 
3.
dummy
K J
  dummy
9 2
8.
 
you
A 10 6
     
you
K 8 3
   
hand
2
 
hand
 
                             
 
4.
dummy
A Q 10
 
dummy
2

9.
 
you
K J 4
      you
K 8 4
   
hand
2
  hand  
                 
 
5.
dummy
A K 7
 
dummy
K J 2
10.
 
you
Q J 3
     
you
Q 8 3
   
hand
2
  hand  

ANSWERS  to Quiz 18


  COVERING HONORS
There is a  bridge maxim Cover an Honor with an Honor. However,
Cover an Honor with an Honor, is an exception to the  maxim Second Hand Low. And like Second Hand Low, there are exceptions. Does  this mean there are exceptions to an exception? Why not? (Is an exception to an exception the rule? ?? Help!) Also, like Second Hand Low  this maxim applies only for the defenders. Cover an Honor with an Honor can be done before or after declarer; or before or after dummy.

w  The only reason to Cover an Honor with an Honor is to
    promote a trick in your hand or in partnerís hand. 

w  If this reason does not exist do not cover. 

w  If the Dummy leads a card from a sequence of honors, cover 
    the last honor in the sequence with an honor.

EXAMPLE:  Q J 4 is in Dummy. The Declarer plays the Queen. 
If you have the King do not cover. When the Jack is played 
(the last honor) then cover with the King.

  QUIZ 19 COVERING HONORS 

 
  THE DUMMY LEADS THE ITALICIZED CARD. 
WHAT DO YOU  PLAY?
  dummy
Q 5 4
1.    dummy
Q J 10 9 8
6. 
    you
K 6 3
    you
K 6 3
                 
  dummy
Q 5 4
2.   dummy
Q J 10 9 8
7.
    you
K J 10
  trump suit you
A 5 3
                 
  dummy
Q J 4
3.   dummy
Q 10 9
8.
    you
K 7 3
    you
A J
                 
  dummy
K 7 4
4. dummy
A J 10
9.
    you
K 6 3
    you
Q 5 4
  dummy
A J 10
5.   dummy
Q
10.
    you
K 7 6
    you
K 5 4

ANSWERS to Quiz 19

 
 NEXT | PREVIOUS | HOME PAGE | MONTHLY HAND | GLOSSARY | LIBRARY | E - MAIL